Can I downsize a Droplet using a snapshot?

You cannot downsize a Droplet from a snapshot. Data is not always stored sequentially in memory, so reducing the size of a disk can result in data loss or corruption.

When creating a snapshot, the entire disk is imaged, not only the data present on the disk. This means that you can only create Droplets with as much disk space as the Droplet the snapshot was taken from, or more. There is no safe way to shrink a Droplet’s disk partitions.

A workaround to this is to create a smaller Droplet and then transfer your data over the new Droplet using rsync or a similar tool. Review our Community data migration guide for more details on how to do this.

Snapshots of Droplets are a best estimate based on the disk usage. Snapshots of volumes operate at the block storage level, so the snapshot size may not match what the filesystem reports.
You can recover your Droplet if you have taken a snapshot of the Droplet or signed up for automated backups.
Destroying a Droplet destroys the backups along with it. You’ll want to preserve your backups first.