Snapshots Support Articles

As a temporary workaround, new DigitalOcean users who begin with team account can transfer snapshots to other users via teams instead of directly via email address.
You can recover your Droplet if you have taken a snapshot of the Droplet or signed up for automated backups.
Snapshots do not retain the IP address of the Droplet they were created from, but you can use reserved IPs to assign the same address to new or redeployed Droplets.
Destroying a Droplet destroys the backups along with it. You’ll want to preserve your backups first.
You cannot currently download DigitalOcean backups or snapshots, but you can use third-party tools to save your data locally.
You can manually back up a Droplet using DigitalOcean snapshots or backups or, alternatively, using a third-party tool like rsync or SFTP.
You can transfer snapshots of Droplets to other users, who can then recreate the Droplet on their account from the snapshot.
Creating a backup or snapshot takes roughly 2 minutes per GB of used space.