Kafka clusters do not support backups, so destroying a cluster permanently deletes its data. Make sure you export any important data before you destroy the cluster.
How to Destroy Kafka Clusters
Last verified 5 Nov 2026
Kafka is an open-source distributed event and stream-processing platform built to process demanding real-time data feeds. It is inherently scalable, with high throughput and availability.
Deleting a database cluster permanently and irreversibly destroys the cluster and its contents.
Destroy a Database Cluster Using Automation
You can destroy a database cluster using the DigitalOcean CLI (doctl) or the API.
Destroy a Database Cluster via CLI
Destroy a Database Cluster via API
Destroy a Database Cluster Using the Control Panel
To destroy a database cluster from the Control Panel, open the cluster’s More menu. Click Destroy to go to the cluster’s Settings page.
In the Destroy this database cluster section at the bottom of the page, click the Destroy button. This opens a Destroy database cluster confirmation window.
To permanently destroy the cluster, enter the name of the database cluster in the text field, then click Destroy.