- Can I download a backup or snapshot?
- How to Create or Restore Droplets from Snapshots
- Snapshots Pricing
- How to Transfer a Droplet Snapshot to a Different Team
- How to Create Snapshots of Droplets
- How to Migrate Droplets Using DigitalOcean Snapshots
- How to Create Snapshots of Volumes
- How to Add or Remove Droplet Snapshots in Other Regions
- How to Delete Snapshots
- Can I downsize a Droplet using a snapshot?
Snapshots
Generated on 12 Nov 2026
Snapshots are on-demand disk images of DigitalOcean Droplets and volumes saved to your account. Use them to create new Droplets and volumes with the same contents.
Quickstarts and intermediate tutorials to get started.
How to accomplish specific tasks in detail, like creation/deletion, configuration, and management.
API and CLI reference documentation for snapshots, including example requests and available parameters.
Features, plans and pricing, availability, limits, known issues, and more.
Get help with technical support and answers to frequently asked questions.
Latest Updates
Upcoming Changes
-
Beginning on 1 January 2027, new and existing copies of a Droplet snapshot in additional regions are billed at the same price as the original snapshot. Until then, there is no additional charge for making a Droplet snapshot available in multiple regions. See Snapshots pricing.
Learn more on Droplet Snapshot Regional Copy Pricing Beginning 1 January 2027.
5 November 2026
-
You can now remove a Droplet snapshot’s copy from a single region without deleting the snapshot or its copies in other regions, using the DigitalOcean API or the Control Panel. Read How to Add or Remove Droplet Snapshots in Other Regions to learn how to remove a regional copy.
13 April 2026
-
You can now transfer Droplet snapshots between accounts using the DigitalOcean API. Read How to Transfer a Droplet Snapshot to learn how to transfer snapshots using the API or Control Panel.
22 April 2024
-
We’ve corrected a bug where image types other than snapshots could be listed using the
GET /v2/snapshotsendpoint. This behavior was strictly limited to image types that the user was properly authorized to access, such as backups and custom images.
For more information, see all Snapshots release notes.