Tax Information by Country

We are required by law to apply taxes for certain countries. If tax is charged and at what rate depends on the account’s tax location. Registered businesses in certain locations can enter their VAT or GST IDs to remove those taxes from their monthly bills.

Location Tax Rate Charged by DigitalOcean Since
Australia 10% 1 September 2017
Belarus 20% 1 December 2019
Canada Varies 1 October 2015
European Union 17% - 27% 1 August 2015
Georgia 18% 1 October 2021
Iceland 24% 1 March 2020
India 18% 1 July 2017
Japan 10% 1 October 2021
Kenya 16% 1 April 2021
Malaysia 6% 1 January 2020
New Zealand 15% 1 May 2019
Norway 25% 1 May 2019
Republic of Korea 10% 1 September 2019
Russian Federation 20% 1 January 2019
Saudi Arabia 15% 1 July 2020
Singapore 7% 1 January 2020
South Africa 15% 1 May 2019
Switzerland 7.7% 1 November 2018
Thailand 7% 1 September 2021
Turkey 18% 1 November 2018
United Arab Emirates 5% 1 May 2019
United Kingdom 20% 1 January 2021
United States of America Varies 1 November 2019

How is my tax location determined?

Your tax location is typically based on your account address, which is initially set to the payment address of your primary payment method when you sign up. In some locations, we are required by law to consider other account details, like other payment addresses or IP addresses.

How can I change my tax location?

You can update your account address and view your account’s tax location and rate at any time on the billing page. If you’ve set your account address correctly but your account’s tax location is not what you expect, contact support for help.

Why is my invoice in USD? Can I get an invoice in another currency?

USD is the only currency we accept for payments, so all invoices are in USD. We cannot provide invoices in other currencies. Learn more about invoices.

Tax Details by Country

To learn more, visit the tax information page for the relevant country:

Australia’s Goods and Services Tax (GST)
The Republic of Belarus’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
Canada’s Goods & Service Tax (GST), Harmonized Sales Tax (HST), and Qu├ębec Services Tax (QST)
Chile’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
The European Union’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
Georgia’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
Iceland’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
India’s Goods and Services Tax (GST)
Japan’s Japanese Consumption Tax (JCT)
Kenya’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
Malaysia’s Sales and Services Tax (SST)
New Zealand’s Goods and Services Tax (GST)
Norway’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
The Russian Federation’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
Saudi Arabia’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
Singapore’s Goods and Services Tax (GST)
South Africa’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
The Republic of Korea’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
Switzerland’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
Thailand’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
Turkey’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
The United Arab Emirates’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
The European Union’s Value Added Tax (VAT)
The United States of America’s state sales taxes

Latest Updates

Upcoming Changes

  • Tax collection for several states and cities in the United States of America will begin on 1 January 2022. Charges will appear on the February invoice. Learn more about USA taxes.

1 October 2021

1 September 2021

  • We have begun charging a 7% Value Added Tax (VAT) to customers in Thailand. This VAT rate is temporarily reduced until 30 September 2021. Unless the TRD extends the temporary reduction, the rate will increase back to the standard VAT rate of 10% on 1 October 2021.

1 April 2021

  • Tax collection for Kenya has begun. Charges will appear on the May invoice.

  • To comply with new provincial requirements in Canada, we are now collecting Provincial Sales Tax (PST) at a rate of 7% for customers in British Columbia and 6% in Saskatchewan. For more details, see Canada tax information.

For more information, see the full release notes.