Teams are available at no cost.
Teams are available to all DigitalOcean accounts and are not affected by regions.
Teams are useful for project leaders and business owners who want to share control of server infrastructure with developers, financial administrators, and other collaborators.
You can create multiple teams and there is no limit to the number of members a team can have. Each team is billed separately and has its own payment information.
Team members can have one of three roles: owner, biller, or member. Roles determine a user’s level of access to a team’s shared resources, billing information, and settings.
|Role||Shared Resources||Billing Information||Team Settings|
|Owner||Full access||Full access||Full access|
|Biller||No access||Full access||No access|
|Member||Full access||No access||No access|
Most team resources are shared, including:
However, personal access tokens for the API are unique to the members who generated them.
The team contact email is where we send operational alerts and maintenance notices. All team members can view the team contact email, but only the team owner can change it (on the team settings page, under Edit Information).
By default, the team contact email is set to the email address of the person who created the team. If you’re working with others, one option is to set the team contact email address to a group mailing list or another address that a broader set of people will receive. If you’re working by yourself, you can keep it set to your own email address.
Emails that are sent exclusively to the team contact email include:
Additionally, some team emails are sent only to specific members:
You must have a valid payment method associated with your account to create teams.
Removing a member from a team removes their access to the control panel and API but does not remove their access to Droplets via SSH keys or other credentials. This is because DigitalOcean does not manage the contents of Droplets after creation. You must revoke credentials from multi-user Droplets independently.
Google OAuth and GitHub OAuth are accepted for secure sign-in, but we currently do not detect or enforce 2FA for these sign-in methods.
Team members with the biller role no longer have view-only access to a team’s shared resources. Billers have full access to billing information only and no access to shared resources or team settings.
Team owners can now require secure sign-in for teams.
Users can now see the sign-in method (email, email + 2FA, Google, or GitHub) for team members on the team account page in the control panel.
For more information, see all Teams release notes.