How to Manage DigitalOcean Account Settings

Note
DigitalOcean’s terms of service prohibit accounts registered to addresses from OFAC-sanctioned countries. For more information, including a list of countries, see section 5.7 of our Rules of Conduct in our terms of service.

On your My Account page, you can edit account information and settings, like your name, password, sign-in method, two-factor authentication, team membership, and email subscriptions.

To access your account settings, click the profile icon in the top right of the control panel.

In the menu that opens, click Manage Account to go to your My Account page.

Name

At the top of the Profile tab, the Name section displays the name on your account. Click the Edit button to change it.

Sign-in Method

The Sign-in method section lets you choose how you log in to your DigitalOcean account. You can use:

  • Email and password
  • Google OAuth
  • GitHub OAuth

You can change from one sign-in method to another by opening the Change pull-down menu and selecting the option you want to use.

If you’re currently using OAuth and want to switch to another account with the same provider, you have to switch to a different login option and then switch back to select a different account.

Password

For security reasons, we don’t display your password here. Click Reset Password to change your password. If you don’t remember your current password, after clicking Reset Password, you can click Reset Via Email.

Two-Factor Authentication

The Two-factor authentication section is a shortcut to enable two-factor authentication (2FA). 2FA adds an extra layer of security to your account by requiring you to provide a code along with your username and password when you log in.

When 2FA is not enabled on your account, click Set Up 2FA to enable it.

The Two-Factor Authentication section of the Profile page

This opens a Set up two factor authentication window which guides you through choosing a 2FA method (authentication app or SMS), verifying the setup, and adding backup codes.

When 2FA is enabled on your account, the Two-factor authentication section displays the default 2FA method and how many backup codes are remaining.

The Two-Factor Authentication section of the Profile page

If you need to create more backup codes, click Regenerate. If you want to disable 2FA, click Disable 2FA and confirm the action in the window that opens.

Note
If you use Google or GitHub OAuth, you will not see the two-factor authentication section because you are not using a username and password on your DigitalOcean account. Instead, we strongly recommend that you enable two-factor authentication on the Google or GitHub account you use to log in to DigitalOcean.

You can find more detailed instructions in our two-factor authentication documentation.

Email Preferences

The Email subscriptions section includes a link to the Subscriptions Preference Center, which lets you opt in or out of the emails you receive from us.

Your Teams

The Your teams section lists any DigitalOcean Teams you are part of. The team name, your role (Member, Biller, or Owner), status (invite dor joined), and join date (if applicable) are listed here.

The Your Teams section of the Profile page

The menu next to each team has two options: Go to team to switch to the team account and Leave team which opens a window to confirm you want to leave the team.

You can also Create a Team in this section.

Deactivate Account

The Deactivate Account section allows you to deactivate your account and purge all of your account data, including email addresses and payment information.

The Deactivate Account section of the Profile page.

To deactivate your account, you need to delete all of the account’s resources and resolve any outstanding bills. The account deactivation documentation has more information.

Personal Account Settings

Some personal account settings remain in the main menu’s Settings section.

In the Personal Account tab, you can change the phone number, address, or company associated with your account. The name, phone number, and company on your account are displayed on your invoices. The address on your account is displayed on your invoice and used to determine which taxes apply to your account.

This section also displays your account’s current Droplet limit and includes a link to request to increase that limit.