Accounts

There are two ways of working with DigitalOcean accounts: with individual accounts and with teams.

  • Individual accounts. Your individual account allows you, as a single user, to manage your infrastructure and billing.

  • Teams. Teams allow groups to work together, providing full access for developers as well as a role for one or more dedicating billing contacts. You can create teams from your individual account.

Account Management

The My Account page lets you view and edit your account information, like changing your login method, enabling 2FA, changing email preferences, and deactivating your account.
View and manage your account’s SSH keys and SSL certificates. View the history of actions that have been taken in your account.
2 articles
Set up two-factor authentication to add an additional layer of security to your DigitalOcean account.
Share access to DigitalOcean resources with multiple users without sharing login credentials or billing information.
3 articles
If you enjoy DigitalOcean and want to share it with friends and colleagues, you can earn account credit by referring others with your unique referral link.
Deactivate an account after destroying all of its resources to close the account and delete its information from DigitalOcean.

Account Information

Verification

Account verification is automatic and happens usually within 30 days of opening and using your account. Under some circumstances, you may be asked to provide photo ID. After you become a verified user, you can manually charge your credit card by using the Pay now button on your billing page.

Droplet and Volume Limit Increases

Once your account is verified, we will periodically increase your Droplet limit. You can also view your account or team’s Droplet limit and request an increase from your account settings page. After reviewing your request, we’ll be able to update your limit.

Before your account is verified, you can create volumes up to 500 GB in size. After your account is verified, you can create volumes of any available size.

Getting Help

DigitalOcean provides free cloud-based technical support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Fix problems logging in to your DigitalOcean account. Troubleshoot issues with a username and password, DigitalOcean device verification, two-factor authentication, Google SSO, or GitHub SSO.

Latest Updates

12 October 2021

28 September 2021

  • Team members with the biller role no longer have view-only access to a team’s shared resources. Billers have full access to billing information only and no access to shared resources or team settings.

2 August 2021

  • When updating an SSH key’s name using the API, if the request body does not contain a new name, the SSH key’s name will now retain its previous value. Previously, if the request body did not contain a new name, the SSH key’s name would update to a default value of either the comment field or the first 23 characters from the public key.

For more information, see the full release notes.